Home » LifeStyle » Book Reviews » The Hoxton Street Monster Supplies Cookbook review and giveaway

The Hoxton Street Monster Supplies Cookbook review and giveaway

Have you ever wondered what to serve the little monster in your life? The Hoxton Street Monster Supplies Cookbook provides everyday recipes for the living and the dead. Serve up tasty dishes the next time zombies drop round for tea.

Hoxton Street Monster Supplies Cookbook

Did you know there is a Monster Supplies shop tucked away on an East London Street? Hoxton Street Monster Supplies has been supplying quality goods for the monster community for hundreds of years. It was set up in 1818 by a refugee monster called Igor, an attempt to ingratiate himself with the local monster community. In reality, inside the doors there is unique and original sweet shop. The shelves are stocked with Fang Floss, Picked Eyeballs and other interesting oddities. A basket contains a purring invisible cat and you might think twice before purchasing anything. 

Hoxton Street Monster Supplies is actually part of a project called Ministry of Stories which aims to promote imagination and storytelling among school age children. The store also runs workshops to encourage and mentor young writers. Created in 2010 with the support of Nick Hornby, author of Fever Pitch, the store is a great way to get children thinking up stories. All the profits from the store go to the Ministry of Stories, due it is said to a rather inconvenient curse.

Hoxton Street Monster Supplies Cookbook

The Hoxton Street Monster Supplies cookbook is a classic cookbook that has been in use by monsters for hundreds of years. It contains everyday recipes for the living, dead and undead. Recently the book has been adapted for use by humans as well as monsters. Now you can cook up treats for every occasion as well as finding hints for monster housekeeping. The 160 page hardback book is worth £13, contains over 70 recipes and is beautifully illustrated.

Inside the  book you will find mix of recipes and general advice and wisdom. It starts with the introduction and some information about the shop. There a very handy guide on the golden rules for entertaining monsters. Did you know dragons and yetis should be seated at opposite ends of the table for temperature control? You should also be aware that zombies take things very slowly so allow plenty of time for the meal.

Hoxton Street Monster Supplies cookbook

The recipes are broken into different sections:

  • Sweets & Pastiles
  • Biscuits & Cookies
  • Cakes & Bakes
  • Jams & Preserves
  • Savoury snacks for entertaining monsters
  • Potions & Poisons

Most of the recipes have strange names like gingerdead men and spiced earwax pie. If you can get past the revolting names and read the list of ingredients you will find the recipes are normal.   The book is full of tasty and original recipes as well as come classics. They are definitely worth cooking up. There is a small introduction to each recipe which are quite funny and some have illustrations as well. Intermixed with the recipes are words of advice and wisdom. These can be labels for buffets or gifts or information on how to carve a human. It makes entertaining reading as well as being a good recipe book.

1000 Year Curse Cookies

I tried out the recipe for 1000 year curse cookies from the book.  These can be used to curse your friends and provide 1000 years of misery per cookie. Luckily there is also a recipe to reverse the curse. Really these are just chocolate chip cookies and very tasty they are. They are also easy to make and children could easily help.

thousand year curse cookies or chocolate chip cookies from Hoxton Street Monster supplies cookbook

Making the biscuits is simple, it is just a case of creaming the butter and sugar the adding eggs, vanilla essence, flour baking powder and chocolate chips to make a dough. It is always a good idea to leave the butter out of the fridge for a while before making the cookies. This softens it and makes it easier to cream. After baking for fifteen minutes you will have delicious cookies that will not last long. Will you be cursed for eating them?

1000 Year Curse Cookies
Author: Hoxton Street Monster Cookbook
Ingredients
  • 25 g 4oz butter
  • 175 g 6oz light soft brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 200 g 7oz plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 100 g plain dark chocolate chips
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 18oC (350 F) Line a baking sheet with baking parchment.
  2. Cream butter and sugar until fluffy
  3. Add the vanilla extract. Beat the egg and add it a little bit at a time mixing well after each addition
  4. Stir in the milk and then sift in the flour and baking powder. Fold it in and finally add the chocolate chips
  5. Place 16 spoonfuls of the mixture on the baking tray and press down with a fork
  6. Bake for 15 minutes until golden.
thousand year curse cookies aka chocolate chip cookies from Hoxton Monster Supplies Cookbook

Check out these videos which show more recipes from the book.

 

 Hoxton Street Monster Supplies Cookbook Giveaway

I have some copies of the Hoxton Street Monster Supplies Cookbook to give away to three of my readers. It would make a great gift or a good addition to your cookbook shelf. It is really easy to enter. Just leave a comment below letting me know which type of  monster you would like to entertain at a dinner party and why. When you have done that go back and fill in the rafflecopter widget so your entry is registered. There are other entries for subscribing by email, following on twitter, visiting facebook and tweeting about the giveaway but these are optional. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

The Rules

  • There are  three prizes of a box of a Hoxton Street Monster Supplies Cookery book – the prize is non-transferable and no cash alternative is offered.
  • Open to UK residents aged 18 and over, excluding employees and relatives of Dragons and Fairy Dust and Hoxton Monster Supplies
  • Closing date for entries is on 11:59pm GMT on 24th Nov  2016
  • Only one entry per person
  • Entrants must log into rafflecopter and leave a comment on the blog answering the question.
  • Optional entry methods are to follow on twitter, visit facebook, tweet on twitter and subscribe by email.
  • The winner will be chosen at random from all valid entries.
  • Automated entries will be disqualified.
  • The winner will be informed within 14 days of the closing date and will need to respond with a postal address within 14 days or a new winner will be chosen.
  • The winner’s name will be available on request.
  • Hoxton Monster Supplies is responsible for prize fulfilment. The prize will be sent within 28 days of receiving the winner’s address.
  • This is a joint promotion between Dragons and Fairy Dust and Hoxton Monster Supplies
  • Entry to this confirms that participants have read, understood and agree to be bound by these Terms and Conditions

 
Giveaway to win one of three Hoxton Street Monster Supplies Cookbooks

 
I was sent a copy of the book in return for an honest review. My opinions are my own.

 

 

 
Follow:
Share:

72 Comments

  1. Tracy K Nixon
    November 3, 2016 / 12:58 pm

    I’d love to entertain the Yeti at my party!

  2. Elizabeth Marshall
    November 3, 2016 / 2:18 pm

    I would invite werewolf to dinner and feed him raw steaks whilst I ate veggie sausages.

  3. Dave Wills
    November 3, 2016 / 7:21 pm

    Unique idea… recipes look great too !

  4. laura banks
    November 3, 2016 / 7:45 pm

    i think dracula as he always has a look of suave and sophistication

  5. Simone Bishop
    November 3, 2016 / 9:58 pm

    The cookie monster….he’s easy to please 😉

  6. Caroline H
    November 3, 2016 / 11:42 pm

    The Loch Ness Monster! We like fish so the menu would probably suit if we were entertaining for dinner (and living in Scotland I’d love to know if it was real).

  7. Jo Hutchinson
    November 4, 2016 / 1:39 am

    I would love to entertain Frankenstein the monster and ask what it was like living in a spooky castle and what happens if he gets struck by lighting. I would serve him some chicken Boo-ritos and Frankenstein Marshmallows.

  8. November 4, 2016 / 7:20 am

    i owuld like to entertain dracula – what fun!

  9. Ruth Harwood
    November 4, 2016 / 10:13 am

    I’d love to entertain an Orc, just to see what they’re like xx

  10. Ray Dodds
    November 4, 2016 / 12:00 pm

    I’d like to bring a werewolf for a howling good time

  11. Frances H
    November 4, 2016 / 12:04 pm

    Any monster except a vampire. Cuz they’d suck!

  12. Ellie Wood
    November 4, 2016 / 1:41 pm

    A vampire, I’d make sushi for dinner. That would satisfy them I hope

  13. Joanna Coleshill
    November 4, 2016 / 5:15 pm

    Dracula, seeing as he’s lived that long he must have some interesting stories!

  14. Susan Hoggett
    November 4, 2016 / 6:16 pm

    I’d like Frankenstein so he could do all the hard jobs!

  15. Solange
    November 5, 2016 / 3:24 am

    I would love to entertain Frankenstein because I feel like he’s a bit misunderstood. I’d love to get to know him better.

  16. November 5, 2016 / 12:36 pm

    Dracula’s grandson Dennis from Transylvania 2, because he is super cute

  17. leanne weir
    November 5, 2016 / 1:02 pm

    I reckon a werewolf would be pretty interesting

  18. KARL BOROWY
    November 5, 2016 / 11:50 pm

    honey monster because I like honey

  19. JOANNE ROXBURGH
    November 6, 2016 / 1:30 pm

    vampire.

  20. Melty
    November 6, 2016 / 4:32 pm

    A dragon to keep the food warm.

  21. Laura Pritchard
    November 6, 2016 / 8:42 pm

    Lurch from The Addams Family as he’s the strong, silent type!

  22. cathyj
    November 7, 2016 / 9:30 am

    I would entertain jekyll and Hyde you never know which will come

  23. Jo Carroll
    November 7, 2016 / 12:41 pm

    I’d invite Frankenstein’s Monster. He’s a big lad so would enjoy a proper feed plus I’d have the advantage of having lots of dinner guests in one body so it’d save on the washing up 😉

  24. hannah Igoe
    November 7, 2016 / 8:53 pm

    I would entertain a dragon because it would give my kids a talking point!

  25. November 8, 2016 / 4:27 pm

    Hmm, Nessie? I’ve been to Scotland and it was the first thing I remembered. 🙂

  26. Tamsin Dean
    November 9, 2016 / 11:15 pm

    a werewolf would be interesting

  27. Matt Froggatt
    November 10, 2016 / 3:00 pm

    Cookie monster! Then we would just go straight to desert!

  28. claire griffiths
    November 10, 2016 / 3:54 pm

    the cookie monster because thats a monster after my own heart 🙂 x

  29. michelle o'neill
    November 10, 2016 / 7:19 pm

    would have to be dracula, such a fascinating history x

  30. janine atkin
    November 17, 2016 / 7:48 pm

    the loch ness monster – id ask him how he always stays hidden!

  31. Laura
    November 18, 2016 / 7:21 pm

    Vampire. At least you’d know what they’d like to eat.

  32. Cara S
    November 19, 2016 / 12:34 am

    A dragon would be amazing, not that I think they are monsters. Especially at a BBQ.

  33. Sarah Rees
    November 20, 2016 / 8:37 pm

    Dracula – I bet he has seen some weird stuff

  34. greig spencer
    November 21, 2016 / 6:26 am

    cookie monster

  35. Samantha R
    November 21, 2016 / 10:12 pm

    A pocket monster!! (pokemon!)

  36. Victoria Prince
    November 22, 2016 / 4:15 pm

    I’d love to entertain the Cookie Monster! Because it would be a great excuse to bake and eat lots of cookies 🙂

  37. charlotte Burford
    November 22, 2016 / 7:10 pm

    A witch so she could magic up a meal and I wouldn’t have to cook!

  38. Sheri Darby
    November 22, 2016 / 8:44 pm

    Cookie Monster – my favourite monster

  39. Sarah Wilson
    November 22, 2016 / 9:57 pm

    The Loch Ness Monster, so I could take a photo!

  40. Jane
    November 22, 2016 / 11:00 pm

    Lestat the vampire!

  41. Jennifer
    November 23, 2016 / 9:24 am

    Dracula as he could probably write a novel with all that he’s seen!

  42. Susan B
    November 23, 2016 / 12:58 pm

    The Incredible Hulk would be fun and his transformation would make for great entertainment.

  43. Keith Hunt
    November 23, 2016 / 3:33 pm

    I need a dragon so they can help with the creme brulée

  44. Angela Kelly
    November 23, 2016 / 5:07 pm

    I would entertain the Cookie Monster because then he could tell me all the best places to find cookies.

  45. Caroline Shepherd
    November 23, 2016 / 5:34 pm

    The ghost of Anne Boleyn – interesting company and she wouldn’t eat much (all the more for me!).

  46. Russell Turner
    November 23, 2016 / 5:54 pm

    I’ve always been too scared to enter the shop which is just down the road!

  47. Dawn Hull
    November 23, 2016 / 6:28 pm

    The Cookie Monster as we both love sweet stuff!

  48. viv carey
    November 23, 2016 / 6:44 pm

    the cookie monster because he would bring cookies!

  49. Emma
    November 23, 2016 / 9:30 pm

    The Loch Ness monster so that I could say I had met it.

  50. Donna Caldwell
    November 23, 2016 / 9:33 pm

    Dracula he wouldn’t eat much except maybe a little drink (of my blood )

  51. Diana
    November 23, 2016 / 9:37 pm

    Dracula!

  52. Jayne Kelsall
    November 23, 2016 / 10:01 pm

    I would love to invite Sully from Monsters Inc .x

  53. Dominique Clarke
    November 23, 2016 / 10:18 pm

    My 3 Little Monsters at home, they love my baking! xx

  54. Jo McPherson
    November 23, 2016 / 11:02 pm

    A vampire, would keep me on my toes

  55. Richard Tyler
    November 23, 2016 / 11:13 pm

    A fire breathing dragon to keep warm!

  56. claire little
    November 23, 2016 / 11:16 pm

    a vampire they wouldn’t be very hungry

  57. Jamie C Millard
    November 23, 2016 / 11:47 pm

    the cookie monster – as long as he brings some cookies and doesn’t just eat all of mine.

  58. Adrian Bold
    November 24, 2016 / 3:40 am

    I’d like Frankenstein so he could do the washing up!

  59. Kirsteen Mackay
    November 24, 2016 / 7:25 am

    Sully from Monster’s Inc because he’s a good monster, kind and cuddly

  60. donna l jones
    November 24, 2016 / 8:33 am

    vampire to see what he would really eat

  61. Vickie Jackson
    November 24, 2016 / 11:22 am

    I’d invite Dracula to find out how he really speaks and to find out what he’s been up to!

  62. Kerry Locke
    November 24, 2016 / 11:53 am

    The incredibly cute Katsuma from ‘Moshi Monsters’ – I would become an instant legend with mu kids

  63. Maria Jane Knight
    November 24, 2016 / 12:19 pm

    A cyclops….i bet his got a real eye for presentation 😉

  64. Heli L
    November 24, 2016 / 12:39 pm

    A vampire as I’d love to know if there’s any truth to the myths. Hopefully wearing a silver cross and having garlic about would keep me safe though!

  65. Lorraine Langham
    November 24, 2016 / 5:17 pm

    I’d invite a werewolf. After dinner my daughter could spend hours practising her hairdressing skills by plaiting his fur to make him look beautiful!

  66. Deborah Radford
    November 24, 2016 / 6:32 pm

    A really great niche present for my daughter who loves to bake…

  67. lauren porter
    November 24, 2016 / 8:03 pm

    the cookie monster as my daughter would think it was the best thing ever!

  68. claire
    November 24, 2016 / 8:13 pm

    ohhh Beast from beauty and the beast ( he is kind of a monster!)

  69. Amy Jo McLellan
    November 24, 2016 / 9:26 pm

    I’d like to entertain Frankenstein!

  70. Marie Rule
    November 24, 2016 / 10:51 pm

    The Cookie Monster as he obviously loves food

  71. NATALIE CROSSAN
    November 24, 2016 / 11:10 pm

    I’d invite Dracula – the cute one from Sesame Street though!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: